Christmas · Craft · Cross stitch

Christmas reveal: Cross stitch edition

WARNING! Some of the projects in this blog could be considered rude! Please turn away now if you’re easily offended.

 

Its finally time for the first of my reveals! About time!

I need to say straight away that none of the stitches here are of my design. Full details of where to find them will be provided below.

So with the next SAL update rapidly approaching (it comes around fast doesn’t it?!?), I thought it would be good to start with the stitches. These are the ones that have taken the most time, were always late on deadline, and generally put everything back the most. Worth it though.

I also struggled to get everything framed. Under normal circumstances I usually find it difficult to find frames that are nice but don’t cost the earth. This is made even more difficult when you’re trying to find frames to fit odd sized objects. Some I had to go bigger, some I just managed to squeeze in. My thought process was that if the recipient wanted to frame it better, they could at a later date. But in the interest of keeping costs down, cheaper was better. Luckily my local Tiger store had a huge variation of sizes, ranging from £1 to £3. It seems that others had had the same idea, so I had to keep going back to get more/ right sizes. Looking back, they have all come out wonky! I’m not sure how I’ve managed it. I’m sure they were all cut straight. Never mind. I’m sure it all adds to the handmade nature.

Anyway, we’ll start with C1 from the list

mrs1

Available to purchase here

This was for sister in law who lives in New Zealand. Parents in law have been there for a couple of weeks, so I needed to get this one done first before they left. They got married in the summer and on their return from honeymoon, and to my horror seemed disappointed that they hadn’t gotten anything handmade. I promised something for Christmas and quickly got thinking. I needed something that was small to be carried in luggage, and light enough to not push anyone over a weight limit. Blankets were out. I thought about Christmas hats or hats/scarves/etc. but it’s their summer at the moment. That idea was out too. Himself finally decided on this pattern and I set to work.

mrs3

It was one of the projects I started when we went to Hastings. Obviously I was doing other things at the same time, but it still took a looong time. This is the one I’d wanted to get finished before my crafting week, but actually finished on the morning of my first day. I’m not sure if it’s the new frames I was using, but I had terrible trouble trying to get the creases out. I was running out of time so couldn’t stretch it. If anyone has any tips on de-creasing, please let me know!

mrs2

But it’s lovely to look at. Just enough detail to make it interesting, but not too much to be really hard work. I thought the colours worked well too. Complementary but again nice and simple.

On to C2.

mis1

Original inspiration can be found here

You know when you see something and you think, this is perfect for whatshername? I had one of those moments with this. Obviously for a huge Star Trek fan, but I saw it a week after we had the good fortune to see No Mans Land starring Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen in the New Theatre in Cardiff. A wonderful but surreal experience. My friend commented that she was just waiting for him to say ‘Make it so’. A week later I saw this. Job done. I love his jaunty smile.

mis2

Again I was worried about getting it done, but it all come together quickly in the end. After the one above it was a delight to be doing something hugely simple.

And finally D3

b1

Inspiration can be found here, here and here

Before I go any further let me just say that Himself requested this. I saw it, thought of him, showed him and then he wanted it. My own fault really. In the end I amalgamated lots of ideas together. I wanted to get an actual beard in there and saw the one above, which is exactly himselfs beard. What d’you think about the font? I love it. Not too big, but big enough to look nice and rounded. I’ll have to remember it and use it in the future.

So there we have it. First reveal. Many more to come I assure you.

If you’re interested in past reveals, please see below

 

A1 – Complete!

A2 – Complete!

B1 – Complete!

B2 – Complete!

C1 – Complete!

C2 – Complete!

C3 – Complete!

C4 – Complete!

C5 – Complete!

C6 – Complete!

C7 – Complete!

D1 – Unfinished.

D3 – Complete!

D4 – Complete!

 

Much love xx

12 thoughts on “Christmas reveal: Cross stitch edition

Leave a Reply

